Who's in, who's out: A look at Ontario Premier Doug Ford's new cabinet

WATCH: New provincial cabinet sees new Health Minister, questions about nepotism

Ontario Premier Doug Ford announced his new cabinet Friday and while many ministers remained in the roles they held during the previous government, some changes were made and some new faces were added.

New additions:

  • Michael Ford, the premier’s nephew and a former Toronto city councillor, becomes minister of citizenship and multiculturalism.
  • Michael Kerzner, a technology and bioscience entrepreneur, becomes Solicitor General.
  • Neil Lumsden, a former Canadian Football League player, becomes minister of tourism, culture and sport.
  • Graydon Smith, the former mayor of Bracebridge, Ont., becomes minister of natural resources and forestry.
  • George Pirie, the former mayor of Timmins, Ont., becomes minister of mines.
  • Michael Parsa, first elected in 2018 in a York Region riding, is promoted into cabinet to become associate minister of housing.
  • Charmaine Williams, a former Brampton, Ont., city councillor and therapist, becomes associate minister of women’s social and economic opportunity.

Read more:

Doug Ford names new cabinet, with Jones as health minister and a role for his nephew

New roles:

  • Sylvia Jones moves from Solicitor General to become deputy premier and health minister.
  • Parm Gill moves from citizenship and multiculturalism to become minister of red tape reduction.
  • Kaleed Rasheed moves from associate minister of digital government to head up the newly created Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery.

Reprised roles:

  • Peter Bethlenfalvy is minister of finance.
  • Stephen Lecce is minister of education.
  • Steve Clark is minister of municipal affairs and housing.
  • Doug Downey is Attorney General.
  • Vic Fedeli is minister of economic development, job creation and trade, with an additional mandate for small business.
  • Prabmeet Sarkaria is president of the Treasury Board, with an expanded mandate for emergency management and procurement.
  • Monte McNaughton is minister of labour, immigration, training and skills development. Immigration wasn’t previously part of his portfolio.
  • Caroline Mulroney is minister of transportation and francophone affairs.
  • David Piccini is minister of the environment, conservation and parks.
  • Paul Calandra is minister of long-term care, minister of legislative affairs.
  • Kinga Surma is minister of infrastructure, with an additional mandate for government real estate.
  • Todd Smith is minister of energy.
  • Greg Rickford is minister of northern development and minister of Indigenous affairs. He was also previously responsible for mining and natural resources and forestry.
  • Jill Dunlop is minister of colleges and universities.
  • Merrilee Fullerton is minister of children, community and social services.
  • Raymond Cho is minister for seniors and accessibility.
  • Lisa Thompson is minister of agriculture, food and rural affairs.
  • Stan Cho is associate minister of transportation.
  • Michael Tibollo is associate minister of mental health and addictions.

Read more:

Long-time Ontario MPP Lisa MacLeod to take time off to ‘address and improve’ health

No longer in cabinet:

  • Lisa MacLeod, formerly minister of heritage, sport, tourism and culture industries.
  • Ross Romano, formerly minister of government and consumer services.
  • Nina Tangri, formerly associate minister of small business and red tape reduction.

© 2022 The Canadian Press

You May Also Like

Top Stories